Tax Relief for Hurricane HARVEY

Tax Relief Available to Victims of Hurricane Harvey

If you are in certain parts of Texas, you have until January 31, 2018 to file certain individual and business returns and make certain tax payments.
Relief is available to any FEMA designated area qualifying for individual relief. Currently, the following Texas counties are eligible for relief: AAransas, Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Harris, Jackson, Kleberg, Liberty, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, Wharton. Colorado, Fayette, Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Sabine, San Jacinto, Waller. Austin, Batrop, DeWitt, Gonzales, Karnes, Lavaca, Lee, Polk, Tyler and Walker.

This tax relief applies to those taxpayers with valid extensions that expire on Oct. 16 and businesses with valid extensions that expire on Sept. 15.

If you had a filing or payment deadline that occurred starting on Aug 23, 2017, it is postponed until Jan 31, 2018.

Individuals and businesses will have until Jan. 31, 2018 for making quarterly estimated tax payments due Sept. 15, 2017 and Jan. 16, 2018.

For individual tax filers, while the 2016 income tax returns that received a tax-filing extension until Oct. 16, 2017 now has until January 31, 2018, the tax payments related these 2016 tax returns are not eligible for this relief.

For businesses, the Oct 31 deadline for quarterly payroll and excise tax returns are also postponed until Jan. 31, 2018.

The IRS will automatically provide filing and penalty relief to any taxpayer with an IRS address of record located in a disaster area. Taxpayers do not have to contact the IRS to get relief. However, if you are in a disaster area and you receive a late filing or late payment penalty notice from the IRS that has an original or extended filing, payment/deposit due date falling within the postponement period, you should give us a call to take care of the issue for you.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top